He Went to Jared!

Today I’m starting to journal the trials and tribulations that will unfold during my son and his fiancée’s wedding planning [cough]from hell[cough].  Let me begin by saying: Anything I say from this day forward cannot be used against me and will not stand up in a court of law. This in no way represents the opinions of said fiancee’s family, and will be from my perspective − and my perspective only − as the groom’s mother. Hmmm, I still remember him saying he was going to marry me.

But I digest.  I don’t mean to make it sound less than exciting and romantic.  It’s just that I am so very thankful that it is the bride’s parents who are doing most of the planning.  I couldn’t plan my way out of a dark bathroom with a blow torch, much less take on something this enormous in scale. I’m a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kinda girl. I know, I know.  That’s what wedding planners are for, but I remember trying to plan my own wedding, with no family members in the area, and on a shoestring budget back in the 70’s.  It was the closest my husband and I ever got to a divorce.  Address books were flung, color swatches ripped up, frustration ensued and tempers flared.  And that was the hour before our engagement.

It all turned out fine in the end, and the big day went off without a hitch. Oh, who am I kidding?  I don’t remember one minute of it.  I just sometimes think it would all be so much more fun without the frustration and frivolous fights.  I say do it in reverse.  Have a big freakin’ impromptu, unplanned party, get your souls knotted by some magistrate in a monkey suit…THEN start planning a committal celebration for some other weekend, once you’ve gotten used to his stinky socks on the floor and he’s learned to say “You’re right, and I’m wrong,” without missing a beat.  You’ll sooo already know your color scheme and decorating style. So it may take a year or two to get to that relaxation level with your spouse.  But party on, young lovers…you’ve made it this far.

….to be continued.

2 Comments

Filed under The Wedding Plan Her

2 responses to “He Went to Jared!

  1. Elicia

    Oh, those poor young lovers. (you’ll be a great mother- in- law if you live that long).

    Like

  2. Haha, oh boy this will be fun to read …. two of my siblings got married this year (but VERY low key) and my brother-in-law is getting married on Oct 1st … oh boy. I loved the line, “It was the closest my husband and I ever got to a divorce. Address books were flung, color swatches ripped up, frustration ensued and tempers flared. And that was the hour before our engagement.” SO TRUE, hahaha … 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

